Skip to content

Photo’s courtesy of Mission Community Archives and Mark Hemrich

The Mission Business Excellence Awards is one event we utilize to nurture business community growth, discussion and exposure within the Lower Mainland.  Taking time to recognize our valuable professionals within our community is vital to its continuous growth and success. This is the event of the year to shout out Businesses or Business Leaders that actualize superior workplace practices and values.

Our Event

The Business Excellence Awards is our way of recognizing the business community for its consistent and invaluable efforts in maintaining a lively professional community and superior workplace practices within Mission. This premier event cultivates the best of the best to celebrate achievement in 8 distinct categories, created to capture the diverse strengths of Mission Business.

SAVE THE DATE:  February 18th  7:00 - 8:00 pm

Nominations OPEN September 15 - October 31 2020 

This process will be open to the public between September 15, 2020, and October 31, 2020. This is where we ask you (the experts), to let us know who the exceptional businesses and organizations in our community are.

Nominations will be accepted in the 8 categories outlined below via our website.  Every business that is nominated will receive an official letter of congratulations and the official Business Excellence Awards submission package which will need to be completed and returned.


If a business is nominated in multiple categories, the business may choose a maximum of 2 categories to compete in.

2020 Business Excellence Awards Categories and Nominees

Customer Service Excellence - Sponsored by Famous For Not Being Famous Enterprises Inc. dba Famous For Not Being Famous 
The Customer Service Excellence Award is presented to a business that exemplifies superior Customer Service. They demonstrate outstanding customer retention, exceptional knowledge of their products, and/or services, and exceeds their customers’ expectations repeatedly.


BC Roadsafe
Heritage Park Pharmacy - FINALIST
Independent Cycles
Meadows Cleaners
Nutek Sign Creations
Perfect Piece Optical - WINNER
Picturesque Clothing
Studio FITRx
Trendy or What Knot Yarns & Gifts - FINALIST

Ultra Fuels
Wenting Cycle
Who Knows Liquidation


Exceptional Business of the Year Award - Sponsored by Ethel M. Lariviere, MBI, Mortgage Broker, Dominion Lending Centres  
A business that showcases entrepreneurial spirit, exceptional leadership, services, and vision will be presented with this award.  This award recognizes the significant contributions to the economic health of the Mission community, business growth, development of fresh and revitalized business practices, and continuous contributions to the business community.


Aldergrove Credit Union
Chartwell Cedarbrooke
Independent Cycles Inc.
Nutek Sign Creations - FINALIST
Pressland General - WINNER
RJ Leger CPA Ltd.


Resiliency Award - Sponsored by District of Mission Economic Development
This award new to the 20th Annual Business Excellence Award is presented to a business that demonstrated strength and resiliency during COVID-19. This business found new and innovative ways to adapt and respond to business disruptions while maintaining continuous business operations or pivoting their operations to serve the greater community. They did not give up, and above all things, they were kind, calm, and compassionate.



BC Roadsafe
Chartwell Cedarbrooke
Cory Cassel Productions - FINALIST
Heritage Park Pharmacy
Lanka Jewels - FINALIST
Swing Optical
Totally BOOK-ish
Trendy or what Knot Yarns & Gifts

Marketing & Communication - Sponsored by Mission Record

A business or organization which is innovative in its approach to marketing and promoting their product or service effectively is eligible for this award. Utilizing media and communications on all levels, including personalizing marketing with digital tools, data, and approaches, to build a reputation, drive strategic growth, and enhance their business, improving engagement with customers and prospects.


Happy Homesteader - FINALIST
Perfect Piece Optical - FINALIST
Pioneer Chrysler Jeep
Silk Degrees - WINNER


Non-Profit Organization of the Year - Sponsored by The Junction
Awarded to a registered society that is active in the local community by making a positive contribution to the social, cultural or economic well-being of the Mission area. This organization shows leadership, demonstrates outstanding contributions, active collaboration, and engagement with others beyond who they serve while maintaining a good relationship with their internal and external partners.


Community Futures North Fraser
Fraser Valley Health Care Foundation
Fraser Valley Mountain Bike Association - FINALIST
Leq'a:mel, Mathexwi, Semath (LMS) Society
Mission Community Services Society - WINNER
Mission Hospice - FINALIST
Young Guns Weightlifting Club


BBB Business Ethics of the Year Award - Sponsored by Better Business Bureau
Business transactions should “Start with Trust” - Better Business Bureau

For this award, all businesses and organizations (profit or non-profit) must be operating for a minimum of one (1) year.  The organization must embody the BBB Standards For Trust; Build Trust, Advertise Honestly, Tell the Truth, Be Transparent, Honour Promises, Be Responsive, Safeguard Privacy, and Embody Integrity. Nominated businesses for this award will be assessed that they are in good standing with the Better Business Bureau, and have a “B” or higher rating.  List of BBB Businesses can be found here


Bedwell Property Services
Cloverdale Paint Inc. - FINALIST
Excalibur Electric Ltd. - WINNER
Leskun & Son Accounting Ltd.
Tap 2 Drain Plumbing - FINALIST


U40 Entrepreneur of the Year -Sponsored by Community Futures North Fraser
The U40 Entrepreneur of the Year recognizes the outstanding achievement of those under the age of 40 and is awarded to persons who have successfully built their organization. This person has gained an expanding positive reputation and strong interpersonal, career, and business potential within the community.



Art of Alchemy Hair & Beauty - FINALIST
Brows on pointe - FINALIST
Dailey Health and Wellness - WINNER
Schubert Investment Group
ToePull Solutions